Page 14, 30th September 1938

30th September 1938
Page 14
Page 14, 30th September 1938 — ORDINATIONS

Report an error

Noticed an error on this page?
If you've noticed an error in this article please click here to report it.


Organisations: Oscott College
Locations: Birmingham


Related articles

Brentwood Ordinations

Page 15 from 17th June 1938

Diamond Jubilee Of Bishop Doubleday

Page 7 from 24th December 1948


BRENTWOOD At an ordination held in the Cathedral, D. cntwood, by Mgr. Arthur Doubleday, li;shop of Brentwood, the Rev. Austin Thorburn, of Brentwood diocese, and Bros. Edwin Sheehan, Aloysius Kelly, Brunoe Wilmot, Ronan Scott, O.F.M., received the diaconate.

Bros. Julian Kennedy, Ephracm Conway, Kentigern Devlin, Emmanuel Gray, Norbert Holland, George Magee, Eustace Warneken, O.F.M., received the first two Minor Orders, Bros. Daniel O'Connor and Alexius Magee, O.F.M., were given the Tonsure.

BIRMINGHAM His Lordship, Bishop Griffin, held an ordination at Oscott College on Saturday, September 24, at which Fr. N. Franks, M.S.F.S., was raised to the priesthood.

Revv. J. Cleary, P. Cooney, W. Davenport, T. Duffy, A. Emery, W. McGann, J. Barr, C. McCabe, and M. McCabe (Birmingham) and the Revv. I. Kind and T. Osbyrne (Shrewsbury) received the diaconate.

The Rev. F. Fogden, M.S.F.S., received the subdiaconate.

The Revv. N. Burditt (Northampton), F. Hamilton, M.S.F.S., P. Devlin, M.S.F.S., received the last two minor orders, and the Revv. I. Birrer (Birmingham), J. Cosgrove, M.S.F.S., C. Dolan, M.S.F.S., Martin Rose, O.S.M., the tonsure and first two minor orders.

SOUTHWARK On Saturday, September 24, Mgr. Amigo, Archbishop-Bishop of Southwark, conferred the following orders at St. John's Seminary, Wonersh :—

The Revv. Hugh Donaghey, Patrick Healion, John Gillespie, Gregory Williams, Thomas Gleeson, Francis Callanan, Charles Borelli, Michael Collins, Aubrey Fowler, Terence Nunn (Nottingham) and John Tobin, were made Deacons.

The Revv. Owen Gbbons, John Hernandez and Bruce Keller received the subdiaconate.

Messrs. Langton Fox, James Carotin, Albert Hadshar, John Mulholland, Gerard Wall, Henry Minter, Edward Bovington, Francis Horsfield, John Procter and Finbar McCarthy received the Tonsure.

blog comments powered by Disqus