Page 1, 8th April 1966

8th April 1966
Page 1
Page 1, 8th April 1966 — LABOUR IS STILL FIVE AHEAD

Related articles

Commons Keeps Its Catholics

Page 1 from 17th June 1983

Mps Seek Permanent Chaplain

Page 1 from 26th February 1993

In Brief

Page 3 from 15th June 2001

Senior Catholic Mps To Stand Down

Page 3 from 13th March 1992

The House Of Commons Is To Most People A Symbol

Page 4 from 10th September 1976


CAT'HOLIC representation in the House of Cornmons is one less than in the last Parliament. This time there will be 13 Conservative M.P.s, 18 Labour and one Republican Labour M.P., compared with 14 Conservatives and 19 Labour in the last Parliament.

Catholic candidates figured in some of the surprise results of the election. Among the biceest was the defeat of Mr. Humphry Berkeley, one of the most progressive Tory Leftwingers. who lost his seat at Lancaster. Two other Catholic Conservatives who lost their seats were Mr. Charles Curran at Uxbridge and Mr. Anthony Fell at Yarmouth.

Another surprise result of the election was at Colne Valley where a Catholic, Mr. A. E P. Duffy, the sitting Labour candidate, lost his seat to the Liberal, Mr. R. Wainwright who had a majority of 2,499. His was the only Labour loss of the election.

In Northern Ireland there was another surprise result where Unionists normally hold the 12 seats. This time, however, Mr. Gerald Fitt (Republican Labour) won at the dock constituency of Belfast West with a majority of 2,011.


Among the Catholic Liberal candidates who failed to gain seats, Prof. M. P. Fogarty at Devizes slightly increased Liberal support, but the Conservatives held the seat with a reduced majority.

Conservative candidates who retained their seats with reduced majorities were: Mr. J. A. Biggs-Davison (Chigwell), Sir Oliver Crosthwaitc-Eyre (New Forest), Wing-Commander R. Grant Ferris (Nantwich), Mr. D. E. C. Price (Eastleigh), Sir Peter Rawlinson (Epsom), Mr. Norman St. John-Stevas (Chelmsford), Sir William Teeling (Brighton Pavilion), Mr. Hugh Fraser (Stafford and Stone), Mr. Timothy Kitson (Richmond, Yorks), Major Patrick Wall (Haltemprice), Mr. D. M. Walters (Westbury).

Two new Conservative can

didates, Mr. Nicholas Scott at Paddington South and Mr. Hugh Rossi at Hornsey, held the seats for their party with reduced majorities.

Sitting Labour candidates returned were Mr. W. H. Aldritt (Liverpool, Scotland), Mr. R. Buchanan (Glasgow Springburn), Mr. H. .1. Delargy (Thurrock), Mr. J. Dempsey (Coatbridge and Airdrie), Mr.

J. A. Dunn (Liverpool Kirkdale), Mr. M. A. Foley (West Bromwich), Mr. J. Hamilton (Bothwell), Mr. P. Mahon (Preston -South) his brother Simon Mahon (Bootle), Mr. N. McBride (Swansea East), Mr. M. T. McGuire (Ince), Mr. R. 3. Mellish (Bermondsey), Mr B. K. O'Malley (Rotherham), Mrs. A. Cullen (Glasgow Gorbals), Mr. W. T. Wells (Walsall), Mrs. Shirley Williams (Hitchin), Mr. K. McNamara (Kingston-uponHull), Mr. J. B. Symonds (Whitehaven), Mr. W. T. Wells (Walsall North)..

Among Labour candidates who failed to unseat the sitting candidates was Mr. H. Lynch, who polled 3,021 votes against the Liberal leader, Mr. Grimond, at Orkney and Shetland.

A Scottish Nationalist candidate Mr. H. M. Robertson, polled only 2,856 votes at Edinburgh South, where Conservatives held the seat with a reduced majority.

In Mid-Ulster, Mr. T. Mitchell (Republican Labour) got 5,000 votes more than in 1964 but failed to take the seat from the Unionist candidate.

blog comments powered by Disqus